After Midnight

3 Jan

Change doesn’t normally happen all at once. The stroke of midnight that marked 2016 didn’t magically change anyone’s carriage to pumpkin or heels to glass slippers. Change happens one decision, thought, word and action at a time. I’m excited to see what the woman in the mirror looks like this time next year.

Last year was by no means mediocre. I paid off my car, served on the 5th year reunion committee for my ugrad college and nabbed my first studio space for my art work. 2016 for me means elevation: building on a foundation laid in the tears and joys of the years past. I want to get rid of credit card debt, put a hole in my student loan debt, focus on family and friends and grow professionally.

For the past three years from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. I’ve been sucking on the teat of a corporate giant. It’s comfortable but not challenging. Time to position myself for a grand exit. Until then, I will work on my organizational skills. Hmph.

I also hope to focus more on my artwork by taking one class in traditional arts and at least one digital art class. But I can’t forget about my writing. Our talents are our babies and honestly, I’m been a bad mama. I’ve neglected my pen while cradling my paintbrush. I don’t want to play favorites any more and pit my art versus my writing. My goal this year is learn to effectively balance the two.

I also want to get back connected to my community. I have a dream of creating a really cool, accessible and affordable art space where people can just come, explore and play. Until then, this year, I want to continue a goal started last year of at least one community service project a month.

I’m planning to read a book a month as well. Suggestions anyone? Haha. Wooo.Bring it.

What are you doing differently this year?

2 Responses to “After Midnight”

  1. Mao's Army January 4, 2016 at 11:17 am #

    Great post. It’s SO good to see you being active again.

    Like

    • lcooksmarketer1 January 4, 2016 at 11:45 am #

      Wootwoot! Feels great to be back. Thanks so much for the support and encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

