Humble Pie

20 Jul

“Don’t be alarmed,” the aged woman offered as she inched toward the music blasting from my driver’s side window.

I guess she noticed my eyes shift involuntarily to the spot where my purse laid nearby.

I chuckled, “I’m not scared,” as I glanced with impatience at the red blaring light on the busy street.
“Your face looks familiar,” she squinted.

I smiled.

“I used to see you on the train,” I offered.

She shuffled a step closer.

“Oooooh, that was a long time ago.”

It was. Over Seven months to be exact. She would walk through the train singing, sometimes selling flowers, sometimes simply asking for spare change.

“Imma be honest, I thought about just stealing some roses to sell” she shrugged.
“Can you help me out with anything?”

I reached into my bag and dug out a dollar.

“It’s not much,” I shrugged as I placed it in her hand.

The green light was my cue to leave.

“Take care of yourself,” I breathed.

It wasn’t until I reached yet another red light that it hit me. Here I was growling about my Friday: my job, my finances, my life in general when I have so much to be grateful for. Sure, life isn’t perfect. And I will never settle.

But I still have a lot to be thankful for. If I had to choose one thing though, I’m most grateful for my fresh outlook, one that is constantly evolving everyday as I encounter new data, experiences and people. I’ve learned that there’s no only path for success.

 

“Everybody’s a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing it is stupid,”

 

What are you must grateful for?

2 Responses to “Humble Pie”

  1. Dienna July 20, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    “It wasn’t until I reached yet another red light that it hit me. Here I was growling about my Friday: my job, my finances, my life in general when I have so much to be grateful for. Sure, life isn’t perfect. And I will never settle.”

    It’s a lot easier to see how green the grass is on our side of the fence when compared to the struggles that someone else is going through.

    Like

    • lcooksmarketer1 July 21, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      Most definitely. I had to catch myself for acting like my life was horrible. There’s always something to be grateful for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

