Working Out Never Felt So Good

5 Sep

Bach blared from my car’s windows as I exited the freeway. Feet tapping the brakes, I slowed at the stoplight. Whispers from a neighboring vehicle’s  radio rode the breeze.

“Starships are made to fllyyyyyy,” sang the wind.

Moments later my classical music was supplanted by the beats and rhythm of Nicki, as I frantically began tuning the radio to my neighbor’s station.

 I waited until his jeep passed by when the light turned green to blast the song, singing along excitedly with my fists in the air.

I couldn’t help myself. Since learning a routine to the song in Zumba, every time I hear it I feel propelled to drop everything and dance. In class, before a wall-sized mirror, surrounded by sweat-glistened women ranging from early twenties to late 50s, I see myself smiling goofily as I mimicked the instructor’s moves beneath the booming beats.

“Starships are made to flyyyyy.”

I began taking classes at the studio in early June with the goal of becoming “summer fine” and shedding about 10 pounds of doing something other than crunches, squats and jumping jacks. I figured it could also be great practice for easing my way back into the performing arts. Dance and theatre are siblings: Both require the same measure of body control and definition.

But since forking over fifty bucks for a summer season, I’ve fallen in love with its art and become fascinated with its business. Women and men gain more than a sense of pride from pounds shed: They create a community. And the instructors create revenue. According to Inc., Zumba is taught in 105 countries across 60,000 locations to over 7.5 million attendees. And inspiring song obsessions across the globe.

Ad Age recently featured a great article about the humble origins of Zumba, whose name is a fusion between the Spanish word “to move fast” and the Spanish word for “partying.”

The short story is Colombian fitness guru Alberto “Beto” Perez forgot his typical aerobic fitness tape one class and created moves on the spot using a mix of personal Latin music CDs. The class loved it and Zumba was born. The original business model was focused on infomercial tapes, but today certifying and supporting Zumba trainers across the world is the key revenue driver.

Trainers create their own businesses under Zumba’s brand. The result is contagious. Women  (and men) gather in drones to pay to sweat off the pounds by partying with people from all backgrounds. Crazy how a little fluke could give birth to a booming business, isn’t it?

4 Responses to “Working Out Never Felt So Good”

  1. Dienna October 7, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I took Zumba once and really enjoyed it, and always wanted to make a routine of it, but I never got around to it. Someday I’d like to do it on a regular basis.

    And when I went, there was only one man there. Huh!

    Like

    • lcooksmarketer1 October 7, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      I love it! But yeah, it’s def not a place to meet guys, but is an excellent way to meet women from all walks of life and get super toned. LOL.Haven’t been since my work schedule changed but am itching to get it into my routine once again. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      • Dienna October 7, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

        I prefer to work out with an all female group anyway. From past experience taking martial arts with a mixed gender group, men can be aggressive. I doubt Zumba will cause men to be aggressive, but I’d still prefer an all female crowd. I can meet men elsewhere!

        Like

  2. lcooksmarketer1 October 7, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Haha! I feel you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

