Pass Me The Scissors

7 Jun

Snip. Snip. Snip.

I shut my eyes and tried to relax in the swiveling chair. It had been over a year since I had let anyone touch my locks. Partially out of stubbornness. Partially because I believed I was perfectly capable of maintaining them myself. I mean how hard can washing and grooming nappy coiled hair possibly be? It’s tougher than it looks the steady clink of the scissors reminded as they sliced through three years-worth of dreads. The salon floor bore the evidence.

“But the roots are strong,” my hairdresser offered.

I ran my fingers though my shortened locks and I stared at myself in the mirror.

A dreadlocked bob?

It seemed fitting. So many things in my life are in transition right now: A new job, new ambitions and goals, for the first time for a long time, a new sense of purpose.

Yeah, I thought, running my hand through my freshly groomed locks. Time for a fresh start.


2 Responses to “Pass Me The Scissors”

  1. bajanpoet June 8, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    We met on your blog because I was searching for a pic to go with my poem Tribute. I didn’t even post it for you to read afterwards! But, now, this post brings that poem back to mind. Here’s a tribute to starting fresh!

    http://poetwhispers.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/tribute/

    Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

