A Tax-Day Quickie

15 Apr

April 15th is the most dreaded day of the year–tax time–a time when every American must pay his or her due.  McDonalds is making the day a little easier with its Tax-Relief Promotion. 

By taking advantage of this notorious day and turning it into something positive, or at least a little less dreadful, McDonalds is innovatively driving business and reconstructing popular perception of the date.

I stumbled across an ad for this promotion yesterday, while buying a burger at a local branch.  My initial perception?  YAY!  A Big Mac for only a penny?  Insanity! 

My second thought?  Well, I had just purchased a burger.  Did I really want to eat McDonalds again tomorrow simply because it is extremely cheap to do so?  Nope.

Lesson Learned?  Early promotion of this special works over the web, in mailboxes, and basically any location other than at the actual McDonalds. 

However, if I happened to wander into McDonalds today and discover this tax-day special, I would, of course, be thrilled.

This promotion makes me wonder what other dates with historically negative connotations will marketers alter.  Is there a Friday the 13th promotion?  A JFK Assasination special?  I’m trying to come up with another dreaded date, but, unfortunately, am having little luck.

Oh well.  Until next time. . .

4 Responses to “A Tax-Day Quickie”

  1. rick April 15, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    mcdonalds just screwed me over in willis, tx on buying two big macs. had to pay full price on both, little kid taking money told me he knew nothing about tax special. looks like i got screwed by the irs and mcdonalds on the same day.

    Like

  2. Kara Miller Super Fan April 16, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Lashonda your blog is awesome. I like your questions, very intuitive. Would have liked to read a little more, but it’s all good

    Like

    • lcooksmarketer1 April 16, 2010 at 8:01 am #

      LOL. I wrote this one a little short than most. Thanks for the feedback, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

